A dictionary break at dawn

I
steal
the yellow
from the
sky, peeling
away the
dusk’s wild
lemon skin,
to share a
saucerful of
crepuscular
light – bathed
in blue – with
my sun-burnt
tongue and you.

Crepuscular (“relating to twilight”) is the loveliest word that I learnt in 2014. I first heard it while sitting at the edge of the cliff, about 6,600 feet above sea level.

So last November, three of us were on a hiccup of a trek in Vattakanal – one of my favourite places in the world – to see the sunrise. The trek ended when the cliff did.  It was a spot where hundreds of Red-Rumped Swallows flocked together every morning. They went through their exquisite dance routines, like ballerinas with wings.

They flew below the cliff where a family of hills, often clad in misty gowns, converged. As the sun rose, the swallows flew across giant burn-marks in the sky. The horizon rolled sideways, beautifully, over a bed of yellow, red and orange paint. The clouds appeared, in shapes and colours, as only they otherwise would have in a painter’s dream.

This time around, there was an astronomy enthusiast and a photographer with me. They were discussing the nature of light in relation to a camera’s aperture settings. That’s when one of them told me about crepuscular rays.

I asked him to repeat the word ‘crepuscular” twice or thrice, and then again to spell it out. It sort of blew my mind. It wasn’t because the word itself sounded like something a Street Fighter character might say before shooting destructive energy balls via double palm thrusts. That was a phenomenal bonus. The word just sounded right. If I could have wandered carelessly towards the edge and magic-carpeted myself across these ethereal landscapes, it would have been perfect.

35 comments

      1. i never new a re-grilled poem, with temporary vegan cheese, could be so creamy in colour

        p.s manu unfolded his beak to reveal the most splendid of sun-burnt maps

        Liked by 1 person

  1. This is a wonderful descript n.. tjose amazing snapshots..
    Cud feel that elongated eureka moment in a continuum of goosebumps when some striking interesting word or anything curious is felt first…i cud relate to words more as a poet n have felt same moments…wen u say crepuscular.., am reminded of a related beautiful word ‘vespertinre’ when i read first from my fav poetess at my site.. it relates yo evening happenings than the sharp twilight which rather is luie a switching elusive moment

    Dug out that poem link fr u, frm my site.. Where in tjis small poetry..vespertine was used
    http://deepundergroundpoetry.com/poems/185860-trespass/

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I LOVE
    I
    steal
    the yellow
    from the
    sky, peeling
    away the
    dusk’s wild
    lemon skin,
    to share a
    saucerful of
    crepuscular
    light – bathed
    in blue – with
    my sun-burnt
    tongue and you

    Just gorgeous and the photos, great post!

    Liked by 1 person

Tell me about it

